OPSB approves construction of transmission lines in Harrison, Ross counties

COLUMBUS, OHIO (Nov. 15, 2018) – The Ohio Power Siting Board (OPSB) today authorized Harrison Power Transmission, LLC and AEP Ohio Transmission Company (AEP Ohio Transco) to construct 138 kilovolt (kV) electric transmission line projects in Harrison and Ross counties, respectively.

In Harrison County, Harrison Power Transmission will construct a 4.36-mile long 138 kV electric transmission line connecting the planned Harrison Power Plant and the existing AEP Ohio Transco Nottingham Substation. Harrison Power Transmission’s modified preferred route will occupy a 100-foot wide right-of-way and incorporate steel lattice towers for support.

In Ross County, AEP Ohio Transco will construct the Ginger Switch-Vigo 138 kV Transmission Line which will extend approximately 7.2 miles between the Ginger Switch and the Vigo Substation through Springfield, Liberty, and Jefferson townships. AEP Ohio Transco’s preferred route will occupy a 100-foot wide right-of-way and incorporate steel poles for support. The new transmission line will replace approximately 7 miles of the aging Berlin-Ross 69 kV Transmission Line, improving service and reliability to customers. The new line will be operated at 69 kV until 138 kV service is needed to serve customer load.

In other business, the OPSB transferred the certificate issued for the Hannibal Port Power Project located in Monroe County from Ohio River Partners Shareholder LLC to Ohio Powerco LLC. The OPSB also approved three route adjustments to American Transmission Systems, Inc.’s East Springfield-Tangy 138 kV Loop to Broadview Substation electric transmission line project in Clark County. ATSI proposed the adjustments to accommodate landowner requests.

Additional information regarding these facilities is available on the OPSB website at www.OPSB.ohio.gov in case numbers 17-2084-EL-BTX, 17-638-EL-BTX, 17-1091-EL-BLN, and 18-594-EL-BTA.


The Ohio Power Siting Board reviews applications for the construction of major utility facilities in Ohio. Together with Ohio’s elected officials, citizen stakeholders, and the energy industry, the Board strives to build a strong and competitive foundation for Ohio’s future.

Contact: Matt Butler, (614) 644-7670