OPSB approves construction of electric power plant in Meigs County

OPSB approves construction of electric power plant in Meigs County

Columbus, Ohio (March 3, 2008) – The Ohio Power Siting Board (OPSB) today approved a proposal to construct a 960 megawatt (MW) coal-fired electric generating station near Letart Falls, Ohio. The facility will be owned and operated by American Municipal Power-Ohio (AMP-Ohio), a non-profit municipal power system that provides electricity to member municipalities.

The generating station will supply electricity to the regional grid through a connection to the 345 kilovolt Sporn-Waterford transmission line. AMP-Ohio plans to reserve approximately 80 percent of the facility’s generating capability for its Ohio customers. The facility will burn approximately 12,000 tons of coal per day when operating at full capacity and utilize Powerspan emissions control technology to regulate sulfur dioxide (SO2) and particulate levels

AMP-Ohio intends for construction to begin in 2009 and to have the facility fully operational in late 2013. The project is expected to create up to 1,600 construction jobs generating $566 million in annual wages and 150 permanent jobs generating $10 million in annual wages.

On May 4, 2007, AMP-Ohio filed its application for a certificate of environmental compatibility and public need to construct the electric generating station and later supplemented its application. Following review of the application, OPSB staff filed a report recommending that the Board authorize construction at the AMP-Ohio’s proposed location.

At a public hearing held in Pomeroy, Ohio, 22 members of the public testified. Testimony was equally divided between those in support of the facility for its impact on local economy and those opposed due to environmental concerns. OPSB staff recommended 34 specific conditions to minimize environmental, social and cultural impacts to the area, and AMP-Ohio has agreed to follow these conditions.

The OPSB reviews applications for the siting of large electric and natural gas generating and transmission facilities in Ohio. The 11-member board is comprised of representatives of the PUCO, the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, the state departments of Development, Natural Resources, Agriculture and Health, the Ohio General Assembly and the public. The Chairman of the PUCO also chairs the OPSB.

Additional information regarding this project is available on the OPSB Web site at www.OPSB.ohio.gov.


Contact: Office of Public Affairs, (614) 466-7750 / (614) 752-8802 (f)